The Wu-Men-Kuan, translated as “The Gateless Gate” or “The Gateless Barrier,” is a collection of 48 koans compiled and commented upon by Wu-Men Hui-k’ai.  The collection, like other important kanna texts, was first published in China before being brought to Japan.  This collection first appeared in 1229 CE before its easterly voyage to Japan in 1254. The text, with Book of Equanimity and the Blue Cliff Record, forms a triumvirate of authoritative koans. Koans of The Gateless Gate:

  1. Joshu’s Dog
  2. Hyakujo and the Fox
  3. Gutei’s One Finger
  4. The Barbarian Has No Beard
  5. Kyogen’s Man Up A Tree
  6. Buddha Holds Up A Flower
  7. Joshu’s “Wash Your Bowls”
  8. Keichu Makes Carts
  9. Daitsu Chisho
  10. Seizei the Poor
  11. Joshu Examines The Hermits
  12. Zuigan Calls Himself “Master”
  13. Tokusan Carries His Bowls
  14. Nansen Kills The Cat
  15. Tozan’s Sixty Blows
  16. The Sound Of The Bell And The Seven-Panel Robe
  17. The National Teacher’s Three Calls
  18. Tozan’s Masagin
  19. Ordinary Mind Is The Way
  20. A Man Of Great Strength
  21. Unmon’s Kanshiketsu
  22. Kashyapa’s Flagpole
  23. Think Neither Good Nor Evil
  24. Leaving Speech And Silence Behind
  25. The Sermon Of The Third Seat
  26. Two Monks Roll Up The Blinds
  27. Not Mind, Not Buddha
  28. Ryutan’s Name Echoed Long
  29. Not The Wind, Not The Flag
  30. Mind Is Buddha
  31. Joshu Sees Through An Old Woman
  32. A Non-Buddhist Questions Buddha
  33. No Mind, No Buddha
  34. Knowing Is Not The Way
  35. Seijo’s Soul Is Separated
  36. Meeting A Man Who Has Accomplished The Way
  37. The Oak Tree In The Garden
  38. A Cow Passes Through A Window
  39. Union And A Mistake In Speech
  40. Kicking Over The Water Jug
  41. Bodhidharma Puts The Mind To Rest
  42. A Woman Comes Out Of Samadhi
  43. Shuzan’s Shippei
  44. Basho’s Shujo
  45. Who Is That One?
  46. Stepping Forward From The Top Of A Pole
  47. Tosotsu’s Three Barriers
  48. Kempo’s One Way
Chinese (Pinyin):  Wú Mén Guān